Tags

, , , , , ,

After my last post Making Raw Chocolate, CHOC Chick sent me a large pouch of cacao butter! Which arrived the other day, and I have been itching to try out some more recipes, so this afternoon Little Lady and I took to the kitchen.

Recently I have been craving white chocolate, and with a bit of help from Jessica’s Raw Chocolate Recipes by Jessica Fenton, I created this and incredibly happy with the results, although it may need a little tweaking.

This does call for something people may not be sure of (but trust me, it works), cashews! Yes, cashews to make chocolate; cashew flour to be exact. Naturally creamy, high in protein and fibre.

CASHEW FLOUR

Blitz a handful of cashews in a blender until you have a fine flour. You may need to stop, shake down some of the chunks and blitz again. Keep in an air tight container for use with other dishes; curries, porridge, ice cream etc.

Now for the chocolate…

YOU WILL NEED

100g Cacao Butter
1 tablespoon Cashew Flour
1-2 tablespoons Agave Nectar
Pinch Pink Salt
Half to 1 teaspoon Rose Extract

HOW TO MAKE

1) Melt the cacao butter in a glass bowl over a saucepan of water, on low heat (make sure the water isn’t touching the bowl). If you haven’t washed and/or dried the containers to cool the chocolate in, you have plenty of time to do this now.
2) Add the cashew flour, 1 tablespoon agave nectar, pink salt, half a teaspoon rose extract and pour everything into a blender jug/container, then blitz until combined.
3) Taste test; if you think you would like it a little sweeter add another tablespoon of agave nectar. I used one teaspoon of rose extract and, although the flavour of the finished product had dulled down, it was still a little strong, so I recommend you only add half a teaspoon initially, and half again if you wish.
4) When you are happy, pour into your chosen containers and chill in the fridge. Our small chocolates took 30 minutes to harden, and we gave the roses an hour.

You could substitute any flavour you like; orange or mint could be wonderful, but the rose was absolutely perfect.

These were lovely, creamy, and complimented a caramel, soya latte beautifully (no, not a raw drink, but I’m working on it). My little ones devoured these too quickly for me to think of how to keep them, but I imagine a airtight container, in a cool cupboard would be ideal.

Thank you to CHOC Chick for the cacao butter, it is wonderful to work with again, and smells fabulous.

More recipes on the way…

Enjoy!

white chocolate blog